INDIANA JOURNALISM HALL OF FAME

Saturday, April 27th

2024 57th INDUCTION BANQUET



Bill Benner

·Sports reporter, writer, and columnist

Sandra Chapman

- Broadcast journalist (WISH-TV & WTHR-TV)
- Investigative reporter and documentarian

Eric Deggans

 Newspaperman, Tampa Bay Times; NPR, television and media critic

Franciso Figueroa (1896-1951)

 Printer, publisher, and editorial contributor for Indiana's first Spanish language newspaper (El Amigo del Hogar)

Max Jones

• Terre Haute Tribune Star, editor; First amendment rights, and open government defender

Wallace Terry (1938-2003)

 Journalist, documentarian and author on war and civil rights issues

Kathy Tretter

 Owner and publisher, Spencer County Leader; working to preserve local newspapers

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame cordially invites you to attend its 57th Induction Banquet

11 a.m. Saturday, April 27, 2024

Woodland Country Club 100 Woodland Lane Carmel, IN 46032

The celebration will begin with a cash bar and reception at 11. The luncheon and induction ceremonies will follow at noon.

RSVP by April 17, 2023

Tickets

Adult - \$60 per person (\$20 tax deductible)
Children under 12 - \$30 per child
Seating is limited to 200 guests

Please make checks payable to the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame PO Box 785, Bloomington, IN 47402

The Indiana Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists established the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame in 1966 at DePauw University in Greencastle.

The purpose of the IJHF is to recognize those individuals who have deep connections to Indiana as a result of their personal backgrounds, including their upbringings, and/or their careers, and who have demonstrated over the years that they are journalists of highest distinction; that their dedication to journalism has enhanced the regard others have for the profession; that their work has been of outstanding public service; and their contributions to journalism have had a significant impact on the social, cultural, political and/or economic life of their communities.

The Hall of Fame moved to the Ernie Pyle School of Journalism in 2009 (merged into the Media School) at Indiana University/Bloomington. In 2023 the IJHF was pleased to be invited by Butler University's College of Communication in Indianapolis to move to the Fairbanks Center where are office and archives are now housed.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame is a 501(c)3 tax exempt organization and appreciates the support of interested donors.